The short story has become an unappreciated commodity in Australian publishing. We talk about it a lot, but there are increasingly fewer markets to get published – particularly if you write popular fiction.

Our goal with [untitled] has always been to choose a story on its merits, regardless of genre. We’ve published contemporary drama, satire, horror, comedy, fantasy, sci fi, literary fiction – you name the genre, and we’ve probably published it in one issue or other. What every story does have in common is its ability to take the reader away and immerse them in the events of their world.

We also pride ourselves on promoting new and emerging authors from all across the country. A number of authors who’ve appeared in [untitled] have gone on to bigger and better things, such as A.S. Patric, the winner of the 2016 Miles Franklin with his novel Black Rock, White City (Transit Lounge); Ryan O’Neill with Their Brilliant Careers (Black Inc.); George Ivanoff, the You Choose series (Penguin); Tess Evans, Mercy Street (HarperCollins); Eliza-Jane Henry-Jones, In the Quiet (Harper Collins); and many, many more.

If you’re after a good read, check out an issue of [untitled].

You can order [untitled] below, or find it in any good bookstore.

[untitled] is a desperately-needed place and space for short stories at a time in Australia when most publications are eschewing that form. Courageous, curious and an admirable project.
— Kalinda Ashton
Author of The Danger Game

Select from Drop-down Menus
(Prices include P&H)

[untitled] (ordering in Australia)

[untitled] (ordering internationally)


You can now order the [untitled] bundle – that’s every copy of [untitled] bundled together for a super-low price! Issue: 7
Price: $20.00
Publication Date: 27 August 2016
Format: Paperback (111mmx178, 192 pages)
ISBN: 9780994615695
Category: Fiction.

Features fiction from Laura Elvery, Beau Hillier, Louise Borges, AT Davidson, Bryn Smith, Arron Agnoli, William Lane, Ken Peryman and Marcus Cowen, Athol Henry, Linda Fitzpatrick, KW George, Beverly Lello, and Jodie Garth. Also features the winners of the 2014 [untitled] short story competition.

Issue: 6
Price: $10.00
Publication Date: 19 February 2014
Format: Paperback (111mmx181, 216 pages)
ISBN: 9780992432515
Category: Fiction.

Features fiction from Josh Donellan, Ryan O’Neill, Laura Bovey, Gina Boothroyd, Belinda Campbell, Suzannah Marshall Macbeth, Venetia Di Pierro, Peter R Hill, Adrienne Tam, Luke Thomas, D Robert Grixti, Mal McClenaghan, Peter Farrar, Tess Evans, and Wendy Purcell. Also features the winners of the 2013 [untitled] short story competition.

Issue: 5
Price: $10.00
Publication Date: 27 May 2012
Format: Paperback (111mmx181, 158 pages)
ISBN: 9780987153890
Category: Fiction.

Features fiction from Luke Thomas, Alex Finlayson, Felicity Castagna, Tom O’Connell, Douglas Sterling, Rae Walter, Eliza-Jane Henry-Jones, Adrienne Tam, Martin Lindsday, Corinne Pentecost, Youlin Koh, Laurie Steed, Nicolas Hoover, Kate Williams, Melissa Fagan, Tracy Rudd, and Robert Deskoski. Also features the winners of the 2012 [untitled] short story competition.

Issue: 4
Price: $10.00
Publication Date: 20 May 2011
Format: Paperback (111mmx181, 153 pages)
ISSN: 1836 9065
Category: Fiction.

Features fiction from George Ivanoff, Sally O’Brien, Alexis A Hunter, Danny Rider, Jillian Staton, Ryan O’Neill, Simon Williamson, Samantha Ellen-Bound, Anja Tanhane, JM Donellan, Mileta Rien, Harold Mally, Dave Halliday, Deborah Sheldon Andrew Scobie, Lana Rosenbaum, Tess Evans, Rijn Collins, and Kylie Mulcahy. Also features the winners of the 2011 [untitled] short story competition.

Issue: 3
Price: $10.00
Publication Date: 8 November 2010
Format: Paperback (111mmx181, 100 pages)
ISSN: 1836 9065
Category: Fiction.

Features fiction from Vic Tietze, Ventia Di Pierro, Koraly Dimitriadis, Brad Dunn, Marian Dalton, Claire Varley, Kirk Marshall, Mal McClenaghan, Jane Downing, Deborah Bouchier, Karin Cox, Andy Murdoch, and Liliane Grace.

Issue: 2
Price: $10.00
Publication Date: 21 April 2010
Format: Paperback (111mmx181, 100 pages)
ISSN: 1836 9065
Category: Fiction.

Features fiction from Bella Ellwood-Clayton, Melissa Howard, Camille Nurka, J Vernau, Blaise van Hecke, A.S. Patric, Violet Kieu, Therese Mobayad, Lee D Gordon, Hilaire, and Bel Woods; and poetry from Tara Nicole Funk, and Tricia Veale.

Issue: 1
Price: $10.00
Publication Date: 10 September 2009
Format: Paperback (110mmx181, 106 pages)
ISSN: 1836 9065
Category: Fiction.

Features fiction from Sophie Moon, Tess Evans, Thuy Linh Nguyen, Ryan O’Neill, George Ivanoff, Les Zigomanis, Lena Pasqua, Mal McClenaghan, Elizabeth Jane, Melissa Ferguson, Laura Bovey and Claire Varley; and poetry from Myron Lysenko, Stu Hatton, and Amy Jackson.

Call Now