The Great Novella 2016 Shortlist

book-iconThank you to everybody who entered Busybird’s Great Novella Search 2016.

There were so many great entries – so many great novellas and short story collections. Whittling down the entries to a shortlist was near impossible.

But here we go …

Danae Bosler (Vic) – ‘Bellwether’
Danae Bosler is a writer and campaigner based in Melbourne. She has been published in Overland, National Times, The Guardian Online and The Conversation. She has a Masters in Creative Writing, Editing and Publishing from Melbourne University.

Sean O’Leary (Vic) – ‘Drifting’
Sean O’Leary is a writer from Melbourne, Australia. His fiction, non-fiction and interviews have been published in Quadrant, FourW, page seventeen, Bravado, Takahé, Wet Ink, Famous Reporter and @ His second short story collection will be published by Peggy Bright Books in 2016.

CH Pearce (ACT) – ‘Fastred and Dobrogost’
C.H. Pearce is a writer and illustrator. Trained as an archivist and historian, she lives in Canberra with her partner and her three rats, Didi, Gogo and Lucky. She has published articles and short stories for which she has won awards including the Marjorie Graber-McInnis Short Story Award in 2015.

Dan Spicer (NSW) – ‘Lure’
Dan Spicer was born in 1983. He has lived in Australia his whole life. He is obsessed with Call of Duty and Battlefield video games. He also likes going to the movies, and his dream is to have one of his stories turned into a Hollywood movie.

Aleks Terauds (TAS) – ‘Paradiso’
Aleks Terauds is a retired senior public servant (principal scientist) who, after spending over twenty years writing science fiction (ministerial briefs, etc), is now returning to his childhood love of less speculative fiction.

Catherine Watkins (VIC) – ‘The Dancing Man’
After completing a Phd in Australian multicultural fiction, Catherine is concentrating on writing short fiction or novella length fiction. She was highly commended in the open section of the 2015 Alan Marshall Short Story Award.

Thank you to everybody who entered.

The winner will be announced at a little ceremony at Busybird Publishing, 30th June, 7.00–8.30pm.